April 28-29, 1990

HOST: Manitowoc Philatelic Society


  1. Exhibitors must be members in good standing of the WFSC

  2. All material exhibited must be the property of the exhibitor and must be authentic.

  3. All exhibits must be mounted on 8 � x 11 pages. Use of sheet protectors is required.

  4. Entries must be made on the official entry form. Where more than one exhibit is entered; each should be entered on a separate form. All forms accompanied by entry fees should be received by:

  5.     Roger H. Oswald

        2514 Sheridan Place

        Manitowoc, W I 54220-3750

                                            No later than March 1, 1990.

    5. In case exhibit space is exhausted, late entries will be returned immediately. The Exhibition Committee reserves the right to accept or reject entries for any reason. The minimum # of frames is one, and the maximum # is six. The frames hold 16 pages, and cost $3.00 each.

    6. All exhibits to be mounted by the Exhibition Committee must be in the hands of the Entries Chairman no later than April 15, 1990. Exhibits are to be mailed to:

Roger H. Oswald

2514 Sheridan Place

Manitowoc W I 54220-3750

    7. All exhibits not mailed and that will be mounted by the owner must be brought directly to the Holiday Inn, Manitowoc, WI on Friday, April 27, 1990, between the hours of 6 p.m. - 9 p.m.

    8. No exhibit or any part thereof may be removed from the exhibit area prior to the close of the exhibition Sunday, April 29th-4pm.

    9. Exhibits will be received and held at the risk- of the owner and exhibitors are encouraged to provide their own insurance. All precautions will be taken while your material is in our possession, but at no time shall liability be placed on the WFSC, Manitowoc Philatelic Society, Manitowoc Holiday Inn, or any of their office, member, committees, employees, or their designated agents.

    10. Exhibition judging and awards will comply with the Rules for Annual Exhibitions as provided by the WFSC Standing Committee on Exhibitions.

    11. A11 entries will be returned as soon as possible after the close of the exhibition to those requesting return by mail. Exhibitors should designate instructions for return of their exhibits and enclose additional remittance to cover postage charges.

    12. Announcement of awards will take place at the awards banquet, Saturday evening, April 28, 1990, at the Holiday Inn, with dinner being at 700 p.m.


(Only for arrangement of exhibits)

DIVISION I Open Competition

Group A United States Group B Countries of the World

Group C United Nations Group D Postal History

Group E Postal Stationery Group F Topical - Thematics

Group G First Day Covers Group H Special Studies

DIVISION II Junior Competition

Exhibits that are entered by junior collectors (age 18 and under are not m competition with adult exhibits. The same rules, other than classification, apply to junior exhibitors as well as adult exhibitors, except juniors may 1 limit theirs to 8, 16, or 32 pages. No charge for Junior exhibits.

DIVISION III Champion of Champions

The exhibitor who won the "Best of Show" at his local annual show is entitled to enter his exhibit in the Champion of Champions division at the State Show. There must be two exhibits to be eligible for a Champion of Champions category; otherwise the best of Show entry will be eligible to enter the next year.

Whoever wins the "Champion of Champions" award may not compete with the same exhibit for five years.

Each local club usually sends their members "Best of Show" exhibit and pays their entry fee.


Will be on an open basis and will be as follows:

Gold, Silver and Bronze ribbons as necessary. APS, ATA, AAPE, JPA, FDC, Collectors of Wisconsin, Wisconsin Postal History Society, and the Wisconsin Blue and Gray Society.


The Wisconsin Federation of Stamp Clubs, Award listing.

Wisconsin Champion of Champions

  1. Confederate States of America, Stampless Covers Roger H. Oswald, Gold Ribbon and Champion of Champions Plaque

  2. Wood County Postal History, David Carney, Gold

  3. Postal Code and Postal Automation, Ralph Hoffman, Gold

Wisconsin Youth Awards:

  1. ABC's of Collecting Airmails, William L. Birch, Gold and H.E.Harris medal

  2. Keyboards, Melissa Brooks, Gold and JPA Blue Ribbon Award

  3. Railroads on Stamps, Paul Galaszewski, Silver and ATA Pin

  4. A Study of the Butterfly, Amy Galaszewski, Silver and Postal Pin

Wisconsin Adult Awards:

  1. Wisconsin in the Civil War, Roger H, Oswald, Gold and Best of Show Piqu�

  2. Confederate States of America, Gary Zink, Gold and APS Chapter Medal

  3. Man Beneath the Sea, Roland Essig, Gold and ATA Medal

  4. United Nations Philately, Robert J. Mather, Gold and AAPE Pin

  5. Ameripex Revisited, Mary Ellen Daniel, Silver, Best First Day Cover Exhibit Certificate and Plaque

  6. United States Issue 1922-1925, Thomas Elnen, Silver and AAPE Pin

  7. Slips on Ships on Stamps, Vernon Moore, Silver

  8. Confederate Distressed Paper, Lyle Hobbs, Silver and Wisconsin Blue and Gray Society Award

  9. CPA Stamp and Covers, David Kroll, Bronze and First Day Cover Honorable Men.

  10. Charleston the Civil War Tears, Lyle Hobbs, Bronze

  11. Aspects of Stamp Collecting, John Franz, Bronze

Peoples Choice Awards:

  1. Youth, Melissa Brooks, Keyboards

  2. Adult, Roger H. Oswald, Wisconsin in the Civil War

  3. Non-Competitive: Robert J. Mather, Wisconsin on Stamps

Latest update: June 14, 2005